picto-description GENERAL DESCRIPTION

Yes! We are already busy preparing the 3rd edition of WATER TREK.

Arriving in Targnon 5 June last, we set off on the push towards the North for 60 new kilometres on the PARCOURS DES RUISSEAUX.

The forests will be the staple of our daily fare, as also the conifers, as also the deciduous trees. And once again we will encounter varied reliefs. The stages will take place in three exemplary places in the Ardenne Bleue: Francorchamps and its racing track, Spa and its natural springs and, finally, Limbourg, one of the Best-Kept Villages in Wallonia and its historic centre.


19 MAY 2018 – TARGNON-FRANCORCHAMPS: you get going at a gentle pace before beginning a long ascent (+ 300 m in six kilometres) through woods and fords. After passing through the estate of Borgoumon and crossing the hameau de Cour, your path then takes you to Andrimont, Chevrouhé and la Hé Stienne, but all this part of the trail, not without its little slopes and slight ups or downs, is finally nothing more than a long descent down to altitude 410. From there on you will have to put your back into it – although perhaps less consistently – for the last 4 kilometres that take you to the village of Francorchamps.

20 MAY 2018 – FRANCORCHAMPS-SPA: we avoid the RAVeL as much as possible since we pass under the motorway before heading towards the little village of Hockai. We are soon back in the woods again, taking the winding rugged road from la Hoëgne to just past the Pont de Belleheid. Then making our way to the Bois Rolin we suddenly find la Hoëgne, before travelling on to les Croupets du Moulin. Crossed by the E42 motorway, to keep moving up to reach the village of Tiège across the meadows. The forest paths then take us to the Lac de Warfaaz, which we pass before travelling on up to Balmoral and the springs of Spa. This will be the longest leg (+/- 22,6 km), but not the most difficult. In any case, the fans will not say otherwise: you can’t miss the promenade de la Hoëgne.

21 MAY 2018 – SPA-LIMBOURG: regular and relatively “horizontal” in its first third, the trail then plunges down towards the old Polleur Bridge and la Hoëgne, after the forests of the North of Spa. After following the river for a few hundred metres, you then have to climb towards the nearby meadows of Jehanster to reach another place well known to country walkers: the cross of Petit-Jean. You are now practically at the culmination, and end of the stage features gentle slopes – sometimes interrupted by one or another outcrop – up to Hèvremont and the old village of Limbourg.

The general elevation of Water Trek 2018

Dénivelé global

Maximum altitude : 562 m

Ascending elevation : 1.297 m

Descending elevation : 1.257 m

Minimum altitude : 190 m

Distance : 64,6 km


 

Water Trek enjoys the support of the Société Wallonne de Distribution des Eaux (S.W.D.E.).

To that end we suggest that you follows the Gout de la S.W.D.E. along the various stages.

You will find this, for instance, on the signposts set up along the route…

Goutte SWDE Logo_SWDE

picto-description DESCRIPTION GÉNÉRALE

Et oui ! Nous nous attelons déjà à la préparation de la 3ème édition du WATER TREK.

Arrivés à Targnon le 5 juin dernier, nous entamons la remontée vers le Nord pour 60 nouveaux kilomètres sur le PARCOURS DES RUISSEAUX.

Les forêts formeront l’essentiel de notre quotidien, tantôt de conifères, tantôt de feuillus. Et nous rencontrerons une nouvelle fois des reliefs variés. Les étapes se feront dans trois lieux exemplaires de l’Ardenne Bleue : Francorchamps et son circuit, Spa et ses thermes et enfin, Limbourg, l’un des Plus Beaux Villages de Wallonie et son centre historique.


19 MAI 2018 – TARGNON-FRANCORCHAMPS : On démarre en douceur avant d’entamer une longue montée (+ 300m en six kilomètres) à travers bois et gués. Après avoir contourné le domaine de Borgoumon et traversé le hameau de Cour, votre progression vous mènera vers Andrimont, Chevrouhé et la Hé Stienne, mais toute cette partie du parcours, sans être exempte de petites côtes et de faux plats, n’est finalement qu’une longue descente jusqu’à l’altitude 410. A partir de là, il vous faudra encore fournir un effort – quoique moins conséquent – pour les 4 derniers kilomètres qui vous mèneront jusqu’au village de Francorchamps.
20 MAI 2018 – FRANCORCHAMPS-SPA : On évite le RAVeL au maximum puis on passe sous l’autoroute avant de se diriger vers le petit village de Hockai. Rapidement, nous rejoindrons les bois pour longer le cours sinueux et accidenté de la Hoëgne, jusqu’au-delà du Pont de Belleheid. Empruntant ensuite le Bois Rolin, nous retrouverons un instant la Hoëgne, avant de remonter vers les Croupets du Moulin. Retraversée sous l’autoroute E42 pour monter vers le village de Tiège à travers les prairies. Les sentiers de bois nous mèneront ensuite au Lac de Warfaaz que nous longerons avant de remonter vers Balmoral et de rejoindre les thermes de Spa. Ce sera la plus longue étape (+/- 22.6km), mais ce ne sera pas la plus difficile. En tout cas, les amateurs ne me démentiront pas : on ne peut pas rater la promenade de la Hoëgne.
 21 MAI 2018 – SPA-LIMBOURG : Régulière et relativement « horizontale » dans son premier tiers, la randonnée plonge ensuite vers le vieux pont de Polleur où elle retrouve la Hoëgne, après les forêts du Nord de Spa. Après avoir longé la rivière pendant plusieurs centaines de mètres, il vous faudra remonter vers les prairies  proches de Jehanster pour atteindre un autre lieu bien connu des marcheurs : la croix du Petit-Jean. On est alors pratiquement au point culminant et la fin de l’étape se profile en pentes douces – parfois interrompues par quelque côte intempestive – jusqu’à Hèvremont et au vieux village de Limbourg.

Le dénivelé global du Water Trek 2018

Dénivelé global

Altitude maximale : 562 m

Dénivelé + : 1.297 m

Dénivelé – : 1.257 m

Altitude minimale : 190 m

Distance : 64,6 km


 

Le Water Trek peut bénéficier du soutien de la Société Wallonne de Distribution des Eaux (S.W.D.E.).

A cet effet, nous vous invitions à suivre la Goutte de la S.W.D.E. tout au long des différentes étapes.

Vous retrouverez notamment celle-ci sur les balises placées le long du tracé…

Goutte SWDEBalise Water TrekLogo_SWDE